Lorenz Publishing
70/1766L, Solo Piano, $32.95
Date released: 2011

What’s “new” is actually “old” – and that certainly applies to this new collection of Mark’s and five other nationally celebrated arrangers. These are songs which have been in the repertoire of churches around the world for over a century, and some for multiple centuries. There are folk tunes, and also tunes by celebrated “classical” composers: Jean Sibelius and Ralph Vaughan Williams. Other hymns are given a classical treatment: Mark Hayes brings Beethoven into “O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus”, and Lloyd Larson adds Baroque counterpoint to “Rejoice, the Lord is King”. There are songs from Germany, Finland, Wales, Ireland, England, the United States…and even one written by an Englishman who emigrated to the United States – “Rejoice, the Lord Is King” by Arthur Messiter. In addition, Mark contributed “I Sing the Mighty Power of God”. Level: Moderate

Song List:

  1. How Firm a Foundation (Ruth Elaine Schram)
  2. Fairest Lord Jesus (Ruth Elaine Schram)
  3. Jesus, the Very Thought of Thee (Larry Shackley)
  4. Praise Ye the Triune God (Larry Shackley)
  5. For All the Saints (Pepper Choplin)
  6. Rejoice, Ye Pure in Heart (Pepper Choplin)
  7. O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus (Mark Hayes)
  8. I Sing the Mighty Power of God (Mark Hayes)
  9. Be Still, My Soul (Lloyd Larson)
  10. Rejoice, the Lord Is King (Lloyd Larson)
  11. Be Thou My Vision (Mary McDonald)
  12. Praise the Lord! Ye Heavens, Adore Him (Mary McDonald)


Publisher Price

Publisher Stock Number

Year Published


, , , , ,